A BRIEF HISTORY
The Wirragulla Polo Club at Dungog has a long history in the district with the first game of the club being played
in 1923 at the Hooke family’s property “Wirragulla”. At this time the first meetings of the foundation members
of the club were held at “Cangon”, the property then and still now owned by the Mackay family.
The club name “Wirragulla” was originally chosen as it was a name synonymous with Dungog and the families
of the foundation members. Today the club continues to enjoy the support of members of the Mackay, Hooke
and Alison families whose forebears were foundation members.
The Wirragulla Polo Club has a significant tradition and has enjoyed great success having won many tournaments
over the years including the prestigious Countess of Dudley Cup on no less than eight occasions since World War II.
The success and history surrounding the club ensures that many polo clubs from around NSW
are keen to participate in the club’s annual tournament held at its own picturesque polo field and facilities
at Tabbil Creek, Dungog, on property owned by the Mackay family.
A number of Wirragulla Polo Club players have represented Australia including the club’s immediate past president,
Jaime Mackay and current club captain, Jock Mackay who is a current member of the Australian Polo Team.
Royal Windsor Cup UK 1975. Jaime Mackay (Left) and Edward Horswell